Begin again

Having had a busy few days without any time for making, I then had to spend a large part of yesterday wrestling with an admin job.  To reward myself afterwards, I decided to do some sewing. But rather than sew from the pile of doom

Whilst my sewing stuff officially lives upstairs, in actuality one corner of the dining room is slowly being taken over by sewing equipment, half made things, things I'm "about to make" and scraps from things I've made but haven't tidied away yet.

Whilst my sewing stuff officially lives upstairs, in actuality one corner of the dining room is slowly being taken over by sewing equipment, half made things, things I’m “about to make” and scraps from things I’ve made but haven’t tidied away yet.


I started a new project entirely. I searched through my actual stash of fabric in boxes put away upstairs and came up with this combo
Exhibit B, the back row is 3 remnents of upholsteryish fabric picked up at various times, in front is left over fun cotton fabric and a well loved pair of now indecent irrepairable linen trousers.

Exhibit B, the back row is 3 remnents of upholsteryish fabric picked up at various times, in front is left over fun cotton fabric and a well loved pair of now indecent irrepairable linen trousers.


What would you make with that lot? I’m half way through so hopefully photo’s of a finished item soon.

To top it off, my mum came round to watch The Great British Sewing Bee today and afterwards we went to my local fabric shop and I now have some more fabric to put on the pile…..

The one on the left is going to be my birthday present to mum (assuming I finish it), the other a remnant I couldn 't resist.

The one on the left is going to be my birtday present to mum (assuming I finish it), the other a remnant I couldn’t resist.

4 thoughts on “Begin again

  1. Ooh love that fabric on the left! I have no idea what you would make from your fabric collection but I am thinking something quite small as there isn’t a lot of fabric in trousers. Can’t wait to see!

    • Yes, the blue fabric has satiney stripes, and then kind of textured stripes either side, would make a good cushion cover if you like that kind of thing. I have used part of the leg of my trousers to be a long thin piece of my make, if that helps….
      I’ve also ending up using a bit of denimey offcuts from a skirt my mum made, a very small amount of pink fabric with red spots from the girls birthday dress, and have just been unpicking part of a tent to include…..

  2. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | I love it when a plan comes together

  3. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | Gift Bag

Leave a Reply

