His ‘n hers Scandi style t shirts

I’m a sucker for brightly coloured, fun kids clothes, (surely that’s how kids should dress, not as little adults) so when I was shopping online at Kitschy Coo for something to make a kids hoodie with I got a bit carried away.

Woops

Woops

I don’t buy fabric online much and this was my first time getting anything from Kitschy Coo and I must say I was really impressed with the quality, some lovely thick stuff. I’m less impressed with my buying skills. The stuff on there isn’t cheap and it’s listed by the half metre (which makes it seem cheaper if you’re not thinking) and I bought quite a lot of stuff, a lot of it I only got half a metre of. Why? What am I going to do with half a metre of jersey? It’s not even enough to make my kids tops, they’re getting too tall. And as it’s all patterned I don’t really want to mix and match it, but it’s much better quality than the stuff I can get loally, so I don’t want to match it with that either. Any suggestions? (Apart from going back online and spending even more).

Luckily I bought a metre each of the ace star fabric (I think I might be a bit star obsessed), so I could make them tops. I used the Simplicity 1573 pattern – which I bought at the beginning of the summer. I was looking for a basic t shirt pattern and this had pajama trousers and a dressing gown as well as several sleeve options on the t shirt. It has a wide age range and goes up to a size 8, but I was counting on the t shirt being baggy (as it’s a big four pattern) and so able to last me longer than that as I can easily add some length. I nearly used this pattern to make my daughter some summer pj’s a few months ago from this with some left over fabric, but she spilt milk over the pattern pieces as I was trying to prepare them so I needed to mop up and dry tissue paper and by the time that had happened my mojo was gone, so this was it’s first proper outing.

Anyway, thankfully after my last two hashes, they turned out to be a straightforward make. I cut out a size 7 for my 6 1/2 year old but made it the length of the size 8, as she’s shot up recently. It looked quite wide, as I thought it might, so I cut a size 7 for my lanky 8 year old as well, but added 2 inches to the length of the size 8 for him. Technically there isn’t a short sleeve option as one of the views, but I just used the short sleeve pattern piece from the layered look. I cut a straight size 7 for my daughter and added a bit (an inch maybe) to the length for my son at the request of my husband (he thought the sleeve looked like it would come out short and look girly).

Then I just sewed it up, without looking at the instructions. No problem. The neckband calls for ribbing, but instead I used Maria Denmark’s method from the my last t shirt and cut them (not on the bias, just straight) at 85% of the length of the measured neckline. I did however, cut them wide enough to iron in half and then fold the edges to the middle and press again, so I could apply them bias binding style, as then the seam allowance is all enclosed and can’t flip to the outside. I like this style of neckline and think it gives a fairly professional finish, considering I just have a standard machine. I also added a “label” to each so they could find the back easily. A satin one for my daughter and a bit of measuring tape twill ribbon for my son’s, cunningly cut to reveal his age (it was his birthday week).

The t shirt on the left is upside down for illustrative purposed, and not because it has a stain on the front, ok.

The t shirt on the left is upside down for illustrative purposed, and not because it has a stain on the front, cough.

I’m mainly very happy with them, but the hems flip up a bit on the sleeves and a lot at the bottom. I didn’t use my twin needle to topstitch this time because the twin needle top stitching on the top I made my son has started coming undone at the neckline as it’s not stretchy and I couldn’t get any stretch interfacing locally to try this method. So instead I used the triple stretch stitch for the hems and the neckband, which looks a bit scruffy. Not enough to notice in general wearing, but room for improvement.

Any suggestions on what I can do better (without a fancy coverstitch machine) or what I can do with my measley half metre lengths of amazing fabric, please let me know. Oh, and there wasn’t a proper photo shoot, but here are some action shots…

At the local food festival in the park, slope + tarpaulin + scrap cardboard = great fun

At the local food festival in the park, slope + tarpaulin + scrap cardboard = great fun

back view

back view

this model was more stationary but less co-operative

this model was more stationary but less co-operative

She loves the shirt though and has been wearing it lots

She loves the shirt though and has been wearing it lots

10 thoughts on “His ‘n hers Scandi style t shirts

  1. I have ordered from that site and I did the same thing. I had to phone them up and get them to change the order to make full metres. It was expensive but I thought the quality was really good and I also like the star patterns very much. Maybe you could do half & half t-shirts with contrast yokes or centre stripes? I see them for children in the shops.
    If that triple stitch you use is what I call lightening stitch I do not like it. I find twin needle fine as long as stitch is longer than usual and use stretch twin needle (not ordinary), but if not I like a chunky zig zag finish like on the Cocos.
    Super t-shirts! X

    • Glad to hear it’s not just me. Not sure I can change the order now I have it though. I think the twin needle would’ve been better on the hems and just save the slightly wonky looking triple stitch for the neckline. Although I haven’t tried a chunky zig zag – I think I shall give that a go. Thank you.

  2. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | Quick pick me up

  3. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | Belated Birthday Hoodie

  4. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | Going round in circles

  5. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | Yet another in a seemingly endless line of t shirt makes

  6. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter

  7. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | Jog on

  8. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | Impulse trousers

  9. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter

Leave a Reply

