Yet another in a seemingly endless line of t shirt makes

More details (he went and changed into some fairly bright checked shorts with this t shirt after the photo shoot, his taste in clothes is certainly not constrained by convention)

Details shot featuring KitchsyKoo scored navy fabric with orange stars (he went and changed into some fairly bright checked shorts with this t shirt after the photo shoot, his taste in clothes is certainly not constrained by convention)

The Mission: Make the boy a t shirt out of scraps from my t shirt plus some of the small bits from Kitschykoo in order to make things even after little sister got a t shirt from leftovers

Sleeves, check

Sleeves, check

The Original Idea: Black front and back, with the navy blue fabric with orange stars on used for sleeves, neckband, a band around the bottom and to applique his initial on the front. Oh and using Simplicity 1573 again.

Proof of pocket function

Proof of pocket function

The Design Brief: Unfortunately the boy got wind of this and asked for a kangaroo pocket on the front with access only at one side (?!) and patches of the star fabric sewn on the main fabric at random.

Back view - with added atmospheric shadows

Back view – with added atmospheric shadows

The Compromise: Black front with star kangaroo pocket (with conventional double opening), star sleeves, star neckline, and over half of the back in star fabric due to limitations of resources.

neckband prepared and about to be attached

neckband prepared and about to be attached

The Make: Fairly straight forward. The neckline I attached like over sized bias binding again. No disasters. Oh, I decided to widen the neckline before adding the neckband as it’s cut for a 1.5cm seam allowance that I wouldn’t be using. I just trimmed it by eye. Then had to spend 10 minutes trying to neaten it up so it was symmetrical again. I settled for “good enough” and repeated my mantra when sewing children’s clothes “he won’t keep still long enough for anyone to notice” until I forgot about it.

He wanted to prove the pocket had double access to you all

He wanted to prove the pocket had double access to you all

The Kangaroo pocket: Self drafted, by eye. Double sided so the white back to the star fabric doesn’t show. I folded a piece into a rectangle about the right size, decided to take a little length off, cut the corners of to make the slopey pocket opening, sewed almost all the way around with right sides folded together, turned it the right way out, pressed it, topstitched the pocket openings with my twin needle, topstitched it down with my twin needle. Done.

I do feed him, honest.

I do feed him, honest.

Other design features: The join of fabrics on the back has topstitching to hold the seam allowance in place. The back was cut too long so I could trim it to the correct length, then I decided to have a high low hem. I drew and cut a pretty curve shape at the sides, but then I was in a hurry to finish it before school pick up, so it ended up with slopey bits at either side that are approximately symmetrical, if you don’t look too closely (lets repeat that mantra again, altogether now….)

Pose - models own (I'm thinking Star Trek Next Gen)

Pose – models own (I’m thinking Star Trek Next Gen)

The verdict: I decided part way through that I didn’t like the two fabrics together, they were somehow neither similar nor contrasty enough. But in the end they look fine. And the boy is happy, he has a new t shirt especially made for him, so all is fair in the world. For now.

And one for luck

And one for luck

9 thoughts on “Yet another in a seemingly endless line of t shirt makes

  1. What a wonderful boy – I absolutely loved this post. He will grow up to be amazing (not that he isn’t already!).

  2. Pingback: Comment on Yet another in a seemingly endless line of t shirt makes by butijustwantedapintofmilk | The blog of COOPER APPAREL. Find us at https://www.facebook.com/Coopertees

  3. I love this, your son will be a great designer one day… But I feel your pain with all the weirdness, when my guy was 3 he asked for each pattern piece of his pants to be different colour… I obliged, that’s what moms do…

    • I think kids clothes should be fun and colourful, scandanavian style, after all, they’re kids, not mini adults. But his taste is extreme even by my standards. Mainly however, he has no idea how much extra work his little ideas entail!

  4. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | And now for something completely different…

  5. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter

  6. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter

  7. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | Stars Upon Thars

Leave a Reply

