And now for something completely different…

Sorry, I lied. I’ve been making another t shirt. From part of my Brighton shopping haul.

70's stylee on the left

70’s stylee on the left, sort of abstract clouds with stars in shades of greyey blue

This time another Brigitte, but with a round neck and an attempt at a proper FBA.

Actually, despite the FBA instructions having got even more steps in since I last looked, that part seems to be going ok. Not that I’m quite sure yet. Because I haven’t finished it. The problem is the sleeves….

I decided this top was crying out for slightly gathered sleeve heads. (Nope, no good reason, but then I am related to the boy. I found a tutorial a bit like this (i.e. I have lost the original tutorial I was following and this seems very similar) and got to work. Puffy sleeve adjustments you hold no fear for me now that I can sort of do a FBA!

Soon I had a new pattern piece drafted by the oh so scientific method of make the new gappy bits at the top the width of my smallest cooking pattern weight. But was it puffy enough, or too puffy? How to tell? Enter Smugly Sensible Husband – can you pin on a sample one?

Rummages through fabric sprawl and finds scrap of old polo shirt that has been cut up already. Hand sews erroneous cut in fabric together, cuts out sample sleeve, hand gathers and tacks into place, tacking underarm sleeve seam and top of side seam together too.

Look how unexpectedly great the navy sleeve looks with the print of the main t shirt

Look how unexpectedly great the navy sleeve looks with the print of the main t shirt

Sleeve is lovely, spot on. Almost a shame to cut sleeve in actual cloudy/starry fabric as the navy blue looks so darn fine, but then I don’t have enough of this blue and plus it’s too thick for the main top. Go to cut cloudy/starry fabric. It’s not big enough for the altered sleeve, only the as drafted sleeve. Unless I cut it at 90 degrees to the right angle, which surely will result in wierd drooping of sleeve over time. Remember navy blue t shirt that I never wear as it’s branded with my old work logo all over the front. Surely the back will be big enough for two sleeve heads? Go to find t shirt, search high and low, but it is sadly not there, suspected given to charity shop in a now forgotten organised frenzy. Sulk. Briefly wonder about cutting sleeves from the oh so soft 3rd and as yet unused fabric but decide against that as there is only a metre and that top will need it’s own sleeves. Sulk some more. Put out Facebook request for unwanted navy blue t shirts in the vain hope that loyal friend will bring one round immediately.

Amazing proto type gather effects from scientific pattern altering method (imagine I'd sewn it properly rather than badly hand tacked it with large rushed stitches)

Amazing proto type gather effects from scientific pattern altering method (imagine I’d sewn it properly rather than badly hand tacked it with large rushed stitches)

Go and buy wine. Say goodbye to husband who is going out for well deserved night out. Check facebook. No replies at all let alone from generous friends about to rush round with fabric in my hour of need. Sulk some more. Drink some wine. Post yet another rambling blog post.

Now, where is that Lola Pattern….

4 thoughts on “And now for something completely different…

  1. Oh dear, I’d love to help you out but I’m afraid I don’t have any navy jersey! Excellent post, I do love that print fabric & hope you resolve the sleeve issue! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | List of projects I’m currently sulking at / ignoring

  3. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter

Leave a Reply

