I did it

I did it, I cut into my precious holiday buy fabric and made a dress.

Peekaboo

Peekaboo

I was so happy wearing my turquoise dress (and so disappointed it had to go in the wash) that I decided it would be a “good enough” pattern for my nighttime city scape fabric. After all, if I waited for the perfect pattern I could have the fabric in a box forever and never wear it at all. So, I overcame my fears of messing it up and the fabric stretching out over time (as I had to cut it at right angles to the way I should) and went for it.

My 8 year old has upped his game

My 8 year old has upped his game

I dithered a little about pattern placement. The fabric has a symetric design, brown with thin rectangles in the middles, going through pink, yellow and orange to brown with the rectangle size increasing as it approaches the border, which had a horrid print I was determined not to use. I’m not sure I got it quite right, I thought the dark on my full bust would help reduce it’s size and the pink would be nicer near my face than the yellow, but now I have a yellow band round my widest part. Oh well, I don’t care.

back shot as directed

back shot as directed

I didn’t have enough fabric to get the sleeves to match up with the main dress, but I think they look fine. I made the cowl with orange nearer my face and a flash of yellow on the undercollar to lift it.

Other than that I made it exactly the same as before, but used a strip of interfacing (normal stuff, I can’t get jersey interfacing locally) to stabilise the shoulder seams.

look, a fushia, in flower in November

look, a fushia, in flower in November

The fit is a little tighter as the fabric has less drape, but I’m fine with that.

I LOVE THIS DRESS. I’m so proud of it. I’m in my second day of wearing it and wondering if I can squeeze day 3 out of it before washing it. I have told anyone who glanced at it that I made it, I’ve probably been unbearable.

he wanted to show you a close up the lovely fabric

he wanted to show you a close up the lovely fabric

And it sort of only cost me £8 (I say sort of, as I used the Birgitte pattern, but I’ve also used that for t shirts, so how to cost that, plus I made the Lola dress as I was experimenting with what to do with this fabric and that cost a bit in paying for the pattern and printing it). But it would cost me at least £30 to buy, and I couldn’t buy this dress and did I tell you I MADE IT!

I’m so proud.

reverting to type

reverting to type

6 thoughts on “I did it

  1. Yes! Excellent fit, too. It is a lovely feeling when you make something that works or you would even buy. I know exactly how you feel when I have a successful project.

  2. I love it, what a beautiful dress. Well done.

  3. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | Women’s Clothes I’ve made

  4. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | Sewing Goodies for Christmas

  5. Pingback: Baggins | Prolific Project Starter

Leave a Reply

