Rectangle to dress (a guest post by The Boy)

fabric before I started.

fabric before I started.

Sister’s birthday coming up, I thought I could make her a dress so I mentioned it to mum.We looked in her stash & found some fabric I thought she would like (above).

measuring the skirt.

measuring the skirt.

OK, so I’ve chosen the fabric. Now it’s onto the measuring. Not too hard. (Apart from annoying little sister trying to find out what we’re making her for her birthday).

Cutting out (there are probably a few pins in the fairy eyes as well)

Cutting out (there are probably a few pins in the fairy eyes as well)

Chosen fabric, measured it out, next it’s cutting out the pieces = not so easy, she’s still there.

The space between the eyes of the fairy is a nice distance for pinning.

The space between the eyes of the fairy is a nice distance for pinning.

After all that, it’s time for pinning so I can sew it together. As you can see I’ve been pinning the fairy eyes = very fun.

Sewing the seam.

Sewing the seam.

Seams sewing and more sewing. I did a French seam on the side seam of the skirt. I put gathers at the top.

a thimble for a pocket (I'm actually turning the pocket).

a thimble for a pocket (I’m actually turning the pocket).

I sewed my first pocket (I made 2 later on too) using the tactic I made to make my blanket. Then I sewed ribbon across the top. (I’m also wearing a t shirt mum made.)

OK, I'm the Molly.

OK, I’m the Molly.

The dress is at a stage where I can’t quite give it to sister.

Although at first look it looks finished enough so who do you think I am?

You guessed it, the Molly.

OK a new invention on the pocket!

OK a new invention on the
pocket!

Done the important parts, and the sister will complain if not pockets.

Now it’s on to the last two pockets and decoration. I wanted to have a curved pocket but mum said it would be to difficult… so I designed my own using the idea that if you cut out a straight bit on the corner of the rectangle it is slightly curved.

Finished the dress, sister's wearing it, doesn't it look good.

Finished the dress, sister’s wearing it, doesn’t it look good.

I’ve sewn some ribbon onto the bottom of the dress. Finished it without help the day before sisters birthday.

I am very proud of the neat stitching and sister likes it too.

10 thoughts on “Rectangle to dress (a guest post by The Boy)

  1. What a wonderful thing to do. I can’t wait to see what he produces as he grows older!

  2. Very cool! Great job!

  3. Wow!!! Haha had to laugh at the pins in the eyes of the fairies… Oh boys!!

  4. Wonderful dress. Lucky sister.

  5. Awesome job! Loved the pins through the eyes…so funny.

  6. This is fantastic! Great work, both making the dress and writing the post. Bet your Mama is proud! πŸ˜ƒ

  7. What a lovely present, and your sister looks fab in it. If there was a children’s sewing bee on telly you would win!

  8. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | Some you win, some you lose

Leave a comment