Hoxton Bonnets

Remember this hat?

 tiny sunhat

tiny sunhat

Well, it made it all the way over to Perth, Western Australia, and after a false start

they figured it out in the end

(so, the photo’s are huge due to my ludditeness, but hey, they have a baby in, so I’m sure you’ll forgive me).

If you’re wondering about the kimono top, it’s apparently on a teddy. This young lady is growing FAST.

Anyways, they asked for matching hats. Matching knitted hats with huge bobbles (a.k.a. Hoxton Bonnets, as any Radmac listener will tell you).

I struggled a bit with this request as a Brit, we all know Australia is land of eternal summer, cold lager, swimming pools, barbeque’s and dangerous animals. But apparently it gets frosty in the mornings in Perth in the winter. Plus they’re planning a trip to the northern hemisphere at Christmas.

I still had this hat lying around at home and no-one in these parts is going to want it any time soon, so I rootled around in my spare yarn bag, dug out some needles, bought myself a new fangled pom pom maker and got going.

hmm

hmm

I managed a blue and green variagated hat, so it half matches the green one.

awww

awww

The stuff I used for the baby hat is lovely and soft. I had to guestimate the size as I’ve never done one that small before and I don’t know how big her head is.

the post it note is nothing to do with me

the post it note is nothing to do with me

The pom pom makers were easy to use and much faster than the old-fashioned cardboard disc method.

up close and personal

up close and personal

The baby hat is plain stockinette stitch, but the blue and green I did a sort of purl zig zag on the side. Which doesn’t show well, but it adds texture.

Now, to post them up to my friend so she can include them in her next parcel to Down Under.

Trust him to want to model all 3 hats at once

Trust him to want to model all 3 hats at once

2 thoughts on “Hoxton Bonnets

  1. Like the photos and cute hats! You are productive at the moment.

Leave a Reply

