Pledges, socks and jeans.

Right, first off, before it’s too late,

I, ProlificProjectStarter, pledge to wear at least one Me Made item every day in May.

Last year was my first MMM, I think I pledged to wear something me made 3 or 4 times a week and I actually managed to wear something every day. I now have more self sewn stuff in my wardrobe and wear a lot of it often, so lets see where the pledge leads me to this year.

Second, I’m going away this weekend, so I decided to find out a sock pattern so that I have something to do while I’m traveling. This is my first attempt at socks, I bought some pretty bamboo needles especially as I didn’t have any small enough. Fingers crossed I don’t get Second Sock Syndrome.

Lastly, I finally have some photo’s of my Ottobre jeans!

As easy as falling of a log brick

As easy as falling of a log brick

So, the fit is definitely not perfect. But it is wearable as proven by the amount I’ve been wearing them.

I was actually directed to "stand on that brick" by my photographer. Serves me right for nobbling him on his way to work I suppose.

I was actually directed to “stand on that brick” by my photographer. Serves me right for nobbling him on his way to work I suppose.

My mum declared them to be very well fitting and I didn’t even ask her. (This is an amazingly positive comment from a woman who is not known for mincing her words).

and the back

and the back

And I may have shown off and told people I’d made them a couple of times. To general amazement.

and the side

and the side

(Is there an ok way to show off your home made clothes to people who don’t sew?)

Ugh, fold of fabric at the front

Ugh, ugly fold of fabric at the front

So, to make sure I don’t focus too much on my failure for perfection, here are my shop bought jeans. My only pair (and these were only bought after many demoralising tries to find something halfway decent).

more wrinkles

and a few wrinkles at the back

I think my homemade ones fit better.

basted first fit

basted first fit, no zip at this point

My muslin started with an inch seam allowance. Which meant after my first basted fit I could extend the crotch length a little, which has improved the fit, but I think I will add more crotch length next time. (Initially I just added length to the front pieces, as I did on my Junipers, but I went back and added it to the backs as well which improved some of the smiles at the back too).

baggy waistband

baggy waistband

The other fitting adjustment I made was to pinch out some of the baginess at the centre back. I just altered the back centre seam so it curved in. I’m not sure that was the “right” thing to do but it has helped.

So, now I’m off to make sure I have some Me Made Clothes packed for my weekend away so I can get my pledge off to a good start. And who knows, maybe I’ll manage to get a second, slightly better fitting pair of jeans before the end of the month. (I can dream, right).

14 thoughts on “Pledges, socks and jeans.

  1. Get you with the me-made-jeans! they’re fab and look much better than the RTW ones!
    Good luck with your MMM15, but I don’t think you’ll need any! 😉

  2. Very Impressed with the jeans. They are definitely a better fit than your rtw ones! Have fun with me made May. I’m moving house right in the middle so will only be watching from the sidelines this year xx

  3. Great jeans! I’m so impressed with all you guys who are making your own jeans! I too have challenged myself to knit my first pair of socks this month, but not until next week. I’m going for a circular needle though, not DPNs. Look forward to hearing how you get on. Good luck with Me Made May.

    • The secret with the jeans is online fitting buddies 😉 Good luck with your socks, these ones are earmarked for a Christmas present, so I should have enough time. I haven’t found out how to magic loop, so I’m sticking with what I know for my first socks (I knit hats on DPN’s).

      • Thanks. Magic loop’s easy once you know how, but sometimes I think DPNs are the better choice anyway. I’m about to knit some sleeves on DPNs and it’s been a while since I used them, so I was struggling trying to get my head round them again!

      • I have always found DPN’s very easy so haven’t bothered trying magic loop, I don’t do much knitting

      • I agree DPNS are no bother – I was trying to get my head round DPN casting on – mentally rather than actually sitting down and doing it! I tend to use a circular needle and magic loop rather than DPNs because I knit a lot in the car and it’s easier not to loose all the stitches of your needles.

  4. These pants look great! 🙂 I’m in love withyour pictures!!!

  5. Jeans, respect! I just got a new pair (bought) cos they are way too tricky for me!!

    • I would buy them if I could find ones that fit! That was a big motivational factor for me. The jeans above were literally the only pair of winter suitable trousers I had left that fit, I was wearing them 5-6 days a week before my recent trouser making binge (and mourning them when they were in the wash and I was forced into leggings and tunics. )

  6. Pingback: Vivian jeans | Prolific Project Starter

Leave a Reply

