Half way house

So, how to sate the creative urge to Do Things With Fabric (and thereby stop myself Buying More) but without the hassle of Measuring, Cutting, Sewing etc.

Why, dye some fabric you already have of course!

The once white now blue fabric hanging on the line with some not quite so in your face any more green linen

The once white now blue fabric hanging on the line with some not quite so in your face any more green linen

I don’t wear white, but I like the wavy fabric I got in my mystery package so I decided to dye it blue (seemed appropriate with the waves). I couldn’t find the shade I wanted locally, so I went darker. (I used is dylon handwash dye in denim blue.) I wasn’t planning it coming out this dark, but hey ho, it’s even and I will wear it now. I also dyed some plain white from the same parcel at the same time as I managed to face up to the fact that the wavy stuff alone was not going to make me a top big enough for me! It has come out a not dissimilar shade to some plain blue fabric from the same parcel so maybe I should have saved the white for something else. Oh the benefit of hindsight!

the one on the left is off white an unsurprisingly took the dye a bit differently from the white fabric on the right.

the one on the left is off white an unsurprisingly took the dye a bit differently from the white fabric on the right.

Then I still had a bucket of dye left and it seemed a shame to waste it so I quickly found a couple of pieces of fabric from my scrap pile and folded and tied them and stuck them in to see what happened (too much of hurry to take photo’s). I also threw in the bright green linen from the same mystery parcel, doing it all completely wrong as the linen wasn’t washed (so was still probably covered in sizing which will inhabit the dye) and it wasn’t even wet. Still, I didn’t want to radically change the colour of the linen, just calm down the green a bit.

I’m pretty pleased with my results. All the non-tied stuff came out even. My waves are slightly darker blue than the rest of the fabric. The plain fabric will go nicely with it to make a top (once I get over my fear of sewing a woven top). The green is definitely mellower and more usable now. And I quite like my tie dye efforts, alhthough I’m not sure yet what to do with them as they’re quite small. They didn’t come out as dark, presumably as the water had cooled down a bit as well as the mixture having already been used for dying and possibly the sizing from the linen dissolving in the water (my dyeing knowledge is very limited).

All in all a fun afternoon, feeling creative, but without having to concentrate too much. Just what I needed today!

6 thoughts on “Half way house

  1. Great idea! I haven’t dyed anything for ages.

  2. i love that off-white and blue tie-dyed piece! I hope you find something nice to use it in – maybe a contrast in something for you, like the front panel of the BHL Polly Top?

  3. Pingback: Snail Labyrinth Elephant | Prolific Project Starter

  4. Pingback: Take one old pair of trousers… | Prolific Project Starter

Leave a Reply

