Hattifateners

So, I finished the hat!

T

It suits her, but she doesn’t like warm clothing of any description so was co-erced into modelling, can you tell?

My calculations were a bit off, so it’s come out as a large childs hat (my kids have inherited my large head). It’ll go on one side for now until I work out who to gift a hand wash only kids hat to. Or maybe it’d fit a small headed adult. Hmm.

B

Love this shot, thanks to my photographer

I’m still in love with the yarn colours. The red feels quite different than the yellow or the green, which I had to knit double to make them work with the red. I was warned that I had picked three different types of yarn which would handle differently (I can only remember that one was Blue Faced Leicester, but I can’t remember which one). [edit: apparently the green is Blue Faced Leicester, the red is Masham and the yellow is White Faced Woodland] I knit it on 8mm dpns as they were what I could find. I tend to knit my hats in chunky yarn with a fairly tight tension that makes a firmish hat.

I have started a second hat with the leftovers but I’ve had to search for other yarn remnants to make enough for a hat. Which I think will probably also be child sized. I’m not too bothered, my hats all seem to find homes in the end!

I also need some more concentrated knitting time to finish the heel flap and turn the heel on my second sock. Hopefully before Wednesday as I’ve found out about a knitting group in a local pub, so I can then mindlessly knit rounds of sock foot whilst chatting.

But I’m also looking forward to doing some sewing. For a start (probably, unless I get distracted) I’m finally recutting my Jalie pattern pieces full sized (rather than how they came – half sized to be cut on the fold) so I can cut the dratted skittery stripey fabric I want to use. Which means I might finally be on theme for the Stashbusting Sewalong as May in knit fabric month.

P.S.

Apologies to anyone looking forward to a Moomin related post, I’m just a bit random with my titles sometimes.

7 thoughts on “Hattifateners

  1. Large head lots of brains don’t worry about it have fun!

  2. Lucky you finding a knitting group – especially in a pub! Had to laugh about the dislike of warm clothing. When my eldest was in year five she refused to wear her coat to school all winter – must have been a mild one,!

    • I struggle to get her to wear anything warm, always have done.

      • I think they have their own temperature. My youngest was the opposite of the eldest, she could walk to school in the thickest gloves I could find and still have blue fingers. If you’re is well and happy then she’s probably fine. It just makes you feel like a dreadful mother, doesn’t it, when everyone else’s kids are wrapped up warm!

      • Yeah, my other one feels the cold, but this one hates being too warm, it plays her excema up. I do insist on coats in winter time (so it doesn’t exacerbate her asthma) but other than that, I figure she knows her body best.

  3. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | Friday Cuteness

Leave a Reply

