Advice for the Novice Knitter

I don’t usually reblog other peoples posts but there’s so much wisdom here and it applies to sewing just as much as knitting. I particularly like #6. If you’ve not seen Gregory’s blog before, check out the ninja knitter!

Mad Man Knitting

IMG_5715I was asked recently by a beginning knitter if I had any advice when it came to learning the craft and art of knitting. What was funny, was seeing how their face twisted into inquisitive when I was mentioning things that I don’t think they considered, nor had seen in pamphlets. Because I treat knitting as a more metaphysical accomplishment, my concepts on ideas for the novice knitter are a shade different than what you might generally hear.

1. Don’t let anyone intimidate you. There are some knitters out there that will smack you down for not knowing every stitch or technique there is. Smile, remind yourself they were once beginners, too, and carry on with your path. But always smile 🙂 You are learning!

2. Scarves are amazing, but go big when you first learn. Scarves can be a great way to learn basic stockinette and garter stitches, but…

View original post 964 more words

Leave a Reply

