The Challenge – Part 1

On Saturday (which coincidentally happened to be 4th July, which is just another day for most people here in the UK) there was a shindig to belatedly celebrate my recent birthday and rather more prematurely celebrate my friends upcoming one. (Our combined age by the end of this year will be 110). Food was eaten, drink was drunk, children ran around outside with bubbles and balloons and there was lots of ceilidh dancing with music from my favourite band. It was a fab night.

Eating and drinking

Eating and drinking

Playing outside

Playing outside

And cake (BTW I never intended to wear those 2 items together, but I completely forgot to plan what to wear and on the day it was the only clean skirt I had and the only top that would go with it. I kind of hope they looked like a dress but I rather feel they looked very mumsy. Oh well. The kids looked cute!)

And cake (BTW I never intended to wear those 2 items together, but I completely forgot to plan what to wear and on the day it was the only clean skirt I had and the only top that would go with it. I kind of hope they looked like a dress but I rather feel they looked very mumsy. Oh well. The kids looked cute!)

(There appear to be no pictures of the dancing so you’ll just have to take my word for it.)

I suppose I should’ve realised that some people might get me presents, but it honestly hadn’t crossed my mind (after all, everyone had brought food or drink to contribute). However, I did get a couple of small things, including this.

She didn't know me 20 years ago, but I may have mentioned that back in the day I liked to watch Ready Steady Cook (there was no Can't Sew, Won't Sew program, but there was Can't Cook, Won't Cook, I seem to recall)

She didn’t know me 20 years ago, but I may have mentioned that back in the day I liked to watch Ready Steady Cook (there was no Can’t Sew, Won’t Sew program, but there was Can’t Cook, Won’t Cook, I seem to recall)

Ah, what a lovely thought

Ah, what a lovely thought

My haul of goodies, a fat quarter of quilting cotton, 2 different colours of ribbon and lots of beads. Hmm, thinking caps on....

My haul of goodies, a fat quarter of quilting cotton, 2 different colours of ribbon and lots of beads. Hmm, thinking caps on….

Challenge accepted.

Watch this space….

8 thoughts on “The Challenge – Part 1

  1. Very much looking forward to seeing what you make with your gifts. Happy belated birthday. It was my sister’s birthday on the 4th too and she also lives in the UK and I miss her…

    • Thanks Sue. My birthday was actually in May but my friends is not until Boxing day, so this was a compromise! I have finished an item utilising several of the things I was given, photo’s tomorrow when it’s daylight!

  2. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | The Challenge – Part 2 (The Idea)

  3. Lovely haul of pressies. I look forward to seeing what you make with them. Happy belated birthday!

  4. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | Challenge – Part 3 (the excecution).

  5. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | The Challenge – Part 4 (Over to you?)

  6. I’m having party envy! Looks like you had an sizing time 🎉💥😃🎊🎉

Leave a Reply

