Resplendent

That’s how I feel. Because I’m wearing these

Is this a new low for me?  Or a sign of how far my confidence has grown?  Who knows. But I figured that they're are no less revealing than all the swimwear and bikini makes I've been seeing recently, and they look so</em? much better on.  (The extreme close up is my method of controlling which wobbly bits I unleash on the interweb!)

Is this a new low for me? Or a sign of how far my confidence has grown? Who knows. But I figured that they’re are no less revealing than all the swimwear and bikini makes I’ve been seeing recently, and they look so much better on. (The extreme close up is my method of controlling which wobbly bits I unleash on the interweb!)

Not just those, it’s not that kind of blog, but still.

So I have used most of the left overs from the girls new dress and have one more pair of undies to add to my dwindling collection.

This time I used Kitschy Coo’s Barrie Boy Cut Brief pattern (I think I may just sign Amanda over my soul), not my self drafted pattern. I printed it out the other day. I reprinted it yesterday afternoon when I noticed that for some reason there was a 1/2cm border missing at the edge of each sheet (sigh). I taped it together whilst the kids were getting ready for bed. And then I have made it yesterday evening. So I’m posting it now to prove to my friend that sewing can be quick!(This friend whom I saw yesterday and she was surprised that I’d only started making the dress my daughter was wearing less than 24 hours earlier. I put the time stamp on my camera. Don’t entirely believe it (as it’s an hour fast), but it does prove they were finished 48 minutes after they were traced onto the fabric ready to cut out). My top tips for quick sewing are: Don’t sew authentic reproduction tudor clothes (she’s a reenact-er, she does this), use a pattern (not try and draft as you go from a garment), use jersey knits that don’t require seam finishes and use a sewing machine rather than hand sewing! Using a pattern you’ve made before recently helps too).

I will fit these pattern pieces on, I will!

I will fit these pattern pieces on, I will!

So the details. My hips fell into a size 7 on the pattern and my waist an 8 (which is the largest size, cue self criticism of my diet recently and the effect it’s had on my waistline) so I cut a 7 (with the higher waist option) and crossed my fingers (spoiler – it came out fine). I only just fit the pattern pieces on the width of the left over fabric I had – and I only managed that by pining the fabric to the carpet to trace the pattern on (as the jersey was curling merrily up at the edges like a traumatised hedgehog).

Gusset, folded over at top before stitching. Check out the exceleent stripe matching to distract yourself from the less than excellent alignment on the right hand side.

Gusset, folded over at top before stitching. Check out the excellent stripe matching to distract yourself from the less than excellent alignment on the right hand side.

I sewed as per the “bad ass” short instructions (there are more detailed instructions with photo’s too). I folded the gusset front under before sewing it down for a neater finish than my interpretation of the instructions gave. But the main difference was that I used Fold Over Elastic from my stash rather than making bands to finish them.

Contrast zig zag on the Fold OVer Elastic (FOE), deliberate design feature, not laziness in changing thread

Contrast zig zag on the Fold Over Elastic (FOE), deliberate design feature, not laziness in changing thread

Yes, that’s right, I’ve been searching for an underwear pattern that doesn’t need elastic, found one, bought it and then hacked it to use elastic. Sigh. In my defense, I now have some FOE bought online in my stash and the green was a great match (although I used some slightly wider black for the waistband). I also didn’t have enough scraps of the stripes left to make the bands or the pateince as it was late at night.

Seriously, 3 pieces, 4 seams, they start to look like knickers in next to no time

Seriously, 3 pieces, 4 seams, they start to look like knickers in next to no time

Anyway, the pattern is nice, quick to make and great for using up scraps. (It would take a smidge longer with the bands I think, but still be a really fast make). The pattern pieces fit on 5 pages of A4 and once my printer printed them out properly they fit together easily. I loved the fact that the seam allowance was stated very clearly at the top of the instructions along with the info that it was already included in the pattern. (How many times have I had to search for that?) The drafting seemed good, it came together easily, things fit and the instructions were easy. The only thing I didn’t see was grainlines on the pattern pieces.

So, one new pair of pants for now, more to follow.

I only had a little piece left, which I showed to my friend when she came. And she pointed out it would make a great circular scarf / headband type thing. So, one quick seam (I left the edges to curl) and a quick snip to level it off later, and she went away with a new item of clothing too.

Bonus item for the woman with the cool ideas who also loves green and hot pink

Bonus item for the woman with the cool ideas who also loves green and hot pink

Is anyone else as obsessed as me at using up leftovers?

4 thoughts on “Resplendent

  1. As you know I love your pants! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | It’s as easy as 1, 2, 3

  3. Pingback: Happy New Year and all that Humbug | Prolific Project Starter

Leave a Reply

