What I’ve been doing on my holidays

Holiday number two part one is nearly complete. Here’s a brief update, with the thin excuse that there are many me made clothes in the photo’s….

Guess where we are

Guess where we are

We have made it north of the border to stay with my brother.

"There you go Dobbin"

“There you go Dobbin”

I have been feeding some horses.

Not advisable

Not advisable

Best not to ride these Kelpies though, as legend says that whilst they appear as friendly wild horses wanting you to ride them, once you’re on their back they gallop off at breakneck speed until they reach the sea and drown you.

my attempt at a different view

my attempt at a different view

up close and personal

up close and personal

We had great fun photographing them whilst my brother distracted the kids.

local wildlife

local wildlife

And we saw lots of interesting things nearby.

interesting landscape architecture

interesting landscape architecture

And I indulged my love of taking photo’s of things I find beautiful

shapely infrastructure

shapely infrastructure

which might not be to everyone’s taste

caged flower

caged flower

I do like the quirky.

now that is a playground

now that is a playground

There was plenty for the kids to do too.

More Me Mades in Action

More Me Mades in Action

We also visited the Falkirk Wheel, which is a rather impressive rotating boat lift. This time instead of having a ride in a canal boat we went via a nearby Roman fort and then the kids played in the splash pools. (I was too busy knitting to take photo’s, but they were impressive, not every splash pool has a working archimedes screw).

Public Art

Public Art

Today we were let loose on our own and went to see the Escher exhibition at the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art. It was 2 hours well spent, I particularly enjoyed some of the earlier works that I hadn’t seen in print and seeing how the themes developed in his art. There were a few preparatory sketches too and a woodcarving and a lithogrpah plate (both deliverately vandalised so no more unauthorised prints could be made) that were fascinating. The detail was incredible. Well worth a look if you’re in the area. Photo’s weren’t allowed but we did see this impromptu piece of art nearby made up of entrance stickers (photo credit to Mr Man).

Feeding the pony's

Feeding the pony’s

Finally, we found another horse to feed, as the maquette’s of the Kelpie’s are on display in Edinburgh at the moment.

Tomorrow we’re moving on (up), much to the relief of my brother’s family I suspect.

4 thoughts on “What I’ve been doing on my holidays

  1. Pingback: Jayne’s hat | Prolific Project Starter

  2. Great pics. You look in playful mood. Clearly enjoying yourself.

Leave a Reply

