The return of the bustle

dancing underway

dancing underway

Sometimes one just needs something a little bustly in ones wardrobe, especially when one is hanging out with adventure seeking, time travelling, molly dancing, steam punk automata. As you do.

front

self drafted skirt

As befits such time travelling adventures, I’m a little hazy on when all this sewing took place. First there was the prototype “bustle” skirt, which Professor Moustachio and I then dip dyed.

side view

side view

At some point later (but this year, I’m pretty sure), this more elegant version got made in some rather lovely shot green/orange needle cord. This was worn to a dance out and I discovered that the waistline finished with bias binding (as per tutorial detailed in the prototype skirt post) was both not the comfiest and not the most secure (especially if some noggin had used a popper(snap) to fasten it at the back, not the brightest idea I’ve ever had to hold up a skirt under pressure).

swags

swags

So the day before the latest dance out, I sewed on some swags of ribbon (fittingly orange shot with green) that I’d been toying with, sewed the bustley bits at the back in place (rather than leaving them permanently safety pinned as I wasn’t sure I’d done them right, I’m still not sure, but at least they’re secure now) and improvised a scruffy looking but comfy and secure waistband out of the last bit of leftover fleece from my ill fated lola.

bustle

“bustle”

And then I went me a singing for the dancers at the steam up at Coldharbour Mill and whilst I was there I got to accompany the boy in his element – asking detailed questions of enthusiastic volunteers.

Understanding exactly how opening both furnace doors at once causes blowback (i.e. fire shooting out of furnace at you)

Understanding exactly how opening both furnace doors at once causes blowback (i.e. fire shooting out of furnace at you)

And now I have made something with nearly all the fabric I brought in Brighton (just the precious black needle cord to go), hooray for me! Also, this counts towards my goal of making 12 things from “proper stash” this year (i.e., not stuff I bought right at the end of 2015 or leftovers). There are a lot of ways I could chose to count this, but today I’m thinking that my stripey trousers, first drape top, sun hats, the sucessful drape top, Challenge Anya skirt, burgandy shot cord skirt, waistcoat, pajama’s (do these count as they were half made?) and this makes 11, which with 2 months left is not bad going!

How’re your sewing goals for this year going?

Issy flashes her bloomers

Issy flashes her bloomers

up close and personal

up close and personal

learning about worsted yarn

learning about worsted yarn

weaving

weaving

Issy Ahman inspects a model traction engine

Issy Ahman inspects a model traction engine

Bustle in action, honest, if you look closely

Bustle in action, honest, if you look closely

2 thoughts on “The return of the bustle

  1. It sounds like you’re doing really well with your stashbusting goal!

Leave a Reply

