Happy Monday

Monday’s can feel a little drab and depressing around these parts at this time of year. This afternoon it is grey and overcast and on my cycle home just now I was on the verge of needing my lights on – at 3.15 in the afternoon. Gah.

Old chair + netting = throne (7 year old logic)

Old chair + netting = throne (7 year old logic)

Nevermind, I have come home to a cheery splash of colour to bring a smile to my face because yesterday I finally made my play with fabric into a cushion. I decided to keep it as 3 of us think it’s great, although its a little on the kitsch side for hubby’s taste.

lapped zipper thingy

lapped zipper thingy

I worked out how to do a covered zipper in my head (it’s basically a fold of fabric) then bottled it and did an internet search, rejecting all the tutorials I found until I came across one that matched my method. Well nearly, it had you sew down the overlapping foldy bit to the zipper. Pah, I thought, it’s held in place at the seams, I don’t need to do that. And indeed it was fine. Until I put a cushion inside it and then it wasn’t, so I had to go back and topstitch after all. Clever old tutorial. (Which I now can’t find, but there are loads out there so search if you need one, just don’t miss out the topstitching).

ahh, how sweet

ahh, how sweet

Also, when pulling the washing out of the machine this morning, this gorgeous teal/aqua coloured felt heart fell out. Which is kind of odd, as I’ve never seen it before. I think what happened is that one of the kids stashed some unspun yarn in their pocket when we at Coldharbour mill and that has randomly felted into a heart shape in the machine and worked it’s way loose from the pocket. How cool is that. I have stashed it on one side whilst I work out what to do with it.

up close and personal

up close and personal

Has anything brightened up your day?

Leave a Reply

