Complicization

An over familiar story of my sewing: Have a simple idea, think “ooh and I could do a, b and c as well with that”, start project, realise I can do d, e and f too, change project further, get overwhelmed by project, put it on one side (in the Box of Broken Dreams*), have a simple idea for a new project, and so the cycle begins again.

Or to put it more succinctly “Complexify: to make more interesting by adding details and fussy techniques” (thanks Alla for the definition).

IMG_3806

I think I am over the hump with my first January jumper and I still have 13 days to finish it. Woo hoo. So obviously I’ve started complexifying the next make to redress the balance. My Long Suffering Husband has requested a hoodie. I think I have enough fabric left over from my jumper (actually must check that now that I’ve got him to tape the pdf together). But I don’t really want matching coloured tops (we’re not that kind of couple). So I experimented with natural dyeing some of the scraps with suff I had around. The strip across the bottom is the fabric as I bought it. The colours don’t show too well (the problem with natural light photo’s is that you kind of need some light to be getting through the clouds and rain), that colour was described as latte by the seller, but I would call it camel. The middle sample at the top is coffee, my original idea, and so fitting for my caffeine addicted husband. It’s hardly changed the colour at all. My research says leaving it in longer might help.

The left hand one is beetroot juice (doesn’t everyone have several cartons of out of date beetroot juice lying around ?). Which shows more but is still quite subtle. Last night, when they were still wet (and hence darker), that was his preferred option.

Finally on the right is turmeric, no surprises there. It’s definitely the most interesting colour and today he’s edging towards that.

My worry is colourfastness, some quick internet research says that none of these dyes need mordants, which I find suprising. But then what do I know. Also I believe the tumeric may wash out over time.

Speaking of which, I found out about this Dye Work Along (thanks Dangerously Alice) today, which looks interesting. Back to the complexification again! Not sure I have time to do this “properly” right now (another of my downfalls that leads to complexification, although one I have well and truly shaken when it comes to finishing knit fabric at least), but the book looks like a good thing to put on my birthday list (and my screenprinting course will be over by then).

Ohh, speaking of screenprinting, I have my homework to finish for tomorrow, a hallway to finish painting and my tax return to do.

I shall leave you with a shot of my Long Suffering Husband (he seriously has some patience to put up with all my projects) piecing the pdf of his hoodie pattern together, as this caused a mild stir on the stashbusting group.

IMG_3802

His thoughts on the matter “well, I want you to make me a hoodie, why wouldn’t I tape the pattern together?”.

 

 

 

 

 

*All credit to my Sewing Fairy Godmother for coining this phrase for where all the abandoned projects end up.

6 thoughts on “Complicization

  1. I love your dyeing experiments. I must try the tumeric – it’s my sort of colour! I am busy complexifying a t-shirt, and you have inspired me to get it finished. Again, hats off to your bloke for doing the PDF thing.

    • Just bought 400g of it at my favourite indian shop in town today, expect more tumeric posts soon. Good luck with your complexification.
      Bloke is now really quite ill with flu, which I don’t think was caused by the pdf.

  2. Better look after him, he looks like a good one !

  3. Pingback: Dyeing Dilemas | Prolific Project Starter

  4. Pingback: Hobbit Hoodie | Prolific Project Starter

Leave a Reply

