Small but perfectly formed

I thought I’d just sneak in a quick clothing from scraps make before the week is up.

IMG_3946

It’s the flat cap from Urbandon’s pattern and tutorial that I told you about last week. It’s a fairly quick make and I would say it was simple: apart from the sewing together of fabric that curves in different directions from each other, which is a fairly big caveat!

IMG_3947

I’m pretty sure I originally bought this (suspected) wool (I haven’t tested it) as a remnant decades ago. I know that I once made my brother a bag out of it with a bicycle embroidered on. The lining are from the remains of a defunct pair of linen trousers that were LSH’s. There is proper petersham in it too that I bought in a job lot of ribbon someone else was destashing. So all in all this really is scrapbusting.

IMG_3949

Which is for the best really, as it’s come out way too small. Too small for LSH and I will find out in the morning if it’s too small for The Boy too (mind you, we are a family of Big Heads). Never mind, I shall find something to do with it and it was fun seeing how it all came together, although I’m not totally convinced I understood what I was doing with the band (you start by cutting a rectangle 3.5x 56 cm and next thing you know one of the long sides is being referred to as longer than the other?).  Maybe I’ll try again with some more scraps.  In the mean time, I will unpick the embroidered secret message (well, I was going to give it to him on Sunday).

2 thoughts on “Small but perfectly formed

  1. What a shame this is too small, it’s gorgeous! Every hat I ever make is too big for me, so I find this a novel problem. I hope you find a head for it!!

    • The Boy has been wearing it all day. He was disappointed to find out I don’t have enough of this fabric left to make a matching, slightly bigger one for his Dad. I suspect his Dad will be relieved!

Leave a Reply

