M is for?

IMG_0182

Mind the Moose Mila shirt, natch (with printed selvage edge made into a label).

 

IMG_0226

Stashbust? Check. Bought this last year on holiday in Wales (later found my local fabric shop stocks it too). Pretty much the whole 2m used.

IMG_0209

Seasonal Sewing Wardrobe Challenge? Check.

IMG_0206

Pattern? Itch to Sitch Mila shirt. So now I can be a total fan girl in this and my Liana jeans.

IMG_0188

Well drafted? Check, all lined up perfectly and you get to chose your upper chest in A, B, C, D or DD cups.

IMG_0196

Customer service? Excellent. When I got confused as to which size to choose someone suggested I ask Kennis on facebook and she looked at my measurements and suggested 12DD top graded to 18 a the waist and hips. Seams to have worked fine.

IMG_0192

Instructions: Excellent, and leads to to really professional finish. I had never inserted a partial placket before and it went swimmingly.

IMG_0185

Any deviation from said instructions? I wimped out on narrow curved hem and used satin bias binding instead.

IMG_0213

Pattern Alerations: As it was drafted for people up to 5’7″ and I’m 5’8″ and like things long, I added 1 1/2″ to the length. I probably didn’t need too.

IMG_0195

Sulkiest Machine Moment: Buttonholes. My machine, always fickle with buttonholes at best, decided to try and chew up the fabric. Eventually, I had a brainwave and unscrewed the throat plate and found a serious lint build up, eurghhh. I spent 15 minutes clearing it all out and after a wait while I made jeans, gave it a go, and it was much better. I also worked out that I need to turn the stitch length down 3 notches for the last step of the buttonhole (when it stiches forward down the right hand side) in order for the two sides to match up.

Overall? Not the quickest make, but the finish is great and I have a sunny yellow shirt.

IMG_0186

Best pattern matching moment: Check out the moose down the placket and on the centre back of the collar.

Best comment: “with that label in it it looks like you bought it” LSH.

Fabric bought for the next one? You betcha (don’t tell the stashbusters, but I really don’t have much lightweight fabric in my stash).

 

 

10 thoughts on “M is for?

  1. Gorgeous! And lovely pictures of the seamstress.

  2. Oh I like this. A lot! Aren’t Kennis’s patterns amazing? I may just buy this one, very impressive!

  3. It’s great – I love the color, the selvage-as-label is awesome, and what a nice fit! I may have to look at this one.

  4. Cool shirt! I’ve never heard of this pattern company before but am checking them out straight away!!

  5. Pingback: Ketchup | Prolific Project Starter

Leave a Reply

