Just About Junipers

A few weeks and half a lifetime ago, it was a bit of a heatwave here and we were about to go on holiday. I decided I needed some new linen trousers, so I went to my local shop and dithered over some pin striped charcoal linen (nice too lightweight for trousers really) and some goldy stuff with a great texture (lovely fabric that would go with nothing else in my wardrobe) and then bought and prepped some plain red linen (reminiscent of an old pair of trousers I used to own) and cut out a pair of Junipers, which I thought was the perfect pattern to use as a) wide legs will be nice in heatwave and b) I have already adjusted it to fit me. I then attempted to sew them up the day before we left. Which wouldn’t have been so bad except it was the first day of the kids school holidays and they were under my feet, plus I was trying to sort out and pack too.

IMG_0371[1].JPG

Not quite there yet

I used this tutorial to make pockets with french seams, but just like when I’ve made this pattern before my pattern pieces still didn’t line up right and my pockets still want to bag open and flash the insides more than I think they should. I really must double check that my pocket pattern pieces are traced correctly before I make them again. And if they are ok, that I’m inserting them the right way around. I also took full advantage of Collette’s zipper tutorial, not that this zipper is particularly hard to insert.

Needless to say, I didn’t get them finished the day before we left (I kind of jinxed it by making a draft blog post titled Just In Time Junipers, never count your chickens and all that). So I tried to finish them on the day of leaving. Which may have contributed to us leaving 2 hours later than planned, which just possibly was a contributing factor in hitting loads of traffic and having a nightmare journey. But somehow, LSH didn’t even mention divorce (too distracted by morris dancing).

I did manage get them to a state before I left where just the inside waistband, the hems and the ends of the belt loops needed doing, which is the kind of thing some people finish by hand just for kicks, so I packed needle and thread and some good intentions.

IMG_0368[1]

In my haste to leave, I only found poppers to take with me, not hook and eyes as the pattern suggests.

Needless to say I didn’t get them finished during the hot weather at a folk festival trailing around after the kids with a swollen ankle. So they came to Yorkshire to camp with Quakers with us too. Where, despite the weather not being so hot any more, I mustered enough shame to finish them before the end of the holiday, so there was at least some point in being so late. Well, I say finish, after catchstitching the waistband and a painfully slow speed and finish down the end of the beltloops, I only tacked the hems in the end. With a backstitch mind. Note to self, really must run them through the machine.

 

IMG_0370[1]

It looks neat, granted, but it took soooooo long

The shots of me wearing them are more atmospheric than clear, but hey. I need to get me some motivation to manage some sewing as I have done exactly zilch since we got back (too busy running around in circles).

 

 

Do holidays fill you with the sudden urge to make things in unrealistic timescales?

11 thoughts on “Just About Junipers

  1. Do my holidays fill me with a sudden urge? Totally. Three items to finish before I go to look after my mum on Tuesday morning (one already done today) …

    I love the trousers!

  2. I am INCREDIBLY pround of your catch stitching! Post a close up in the group!!

  3. I recognise where you’ve been – we’re just on our way home from Whitby! Well done on getting them finished, they could so easily have ended up a UFO. 😀

  4. Loving these trousers and, yes, the prospect of a holiday fills me with the urge for a whole new wardrobe 😜 Glad you got these finished as they look wonderful.

  5. Your definitely not the only one to do this before a holiday, any excuse to sew new clothes! They look lovely, the catch stitching is fab and love the colour.

  6. Good for you getting them done while on vacation! I also always want to sew before vacation. This time I was trying to get a cardigan done before a beach trip but was foiled by my sewing machine’s refusal to sew a buttonhole. Gave up. Wish I had some hand-sewing with me, though!

Leave a Reply

