Frost protection

Climbing beans (such as runners) are not hardy, you may need to protect them from frost, fleece can be used. My beanpole (who both runs and climbs), also does not like being exposed to cold. He does keep growing though, so while last years  extended and eeked out fleece backed starry jogging bottoms still fit (for now) the original pair have been passed on now leaving him with only one pair for the cold months ahead.

IMG_0335[1]

I wanted to go up a size, but I didn’t dare adjust the ottobre pattern further (I suspect the crotch curve would need changing), so this time I used my trusty Domi pattern. They are quite scarily big, I was worried I’d miscalculated, but on closer inspection they do look like they might be a similar size to the last pair, with a couple of inches extra growing room, so it seems that it might be my beanpole who is excessively big.

IMG_0336[1]

These have been put on one side for his upcoming birthday (we’re getting a daily countdown at the moment), so fingers crossed they fit and the brown and orange colour scheme is  approved (you wouldn’t guess it from here but they look a bit tame compared with last years). I’m hoping the super soft fleecey back  will win him over…

4 thoughts on “Frost protection

  1. These are stunning! Star pants are very much loved here! Thanks again xx

  2. Well, I suspect the mulitcoloured Star Pants Mark 2 won’t fit him next year so if they survive the winter they may wing their way to you…

  3. Pingback: Mash Up | Prolific Project Starter

  4. Pingback: A decade of parenting | Prolific Project Starter

Leave a Reply

