Liana no 2 – the metallic ones

Right after I finished my first Liana’s I started a second pair. I was full of enthusiasm for the pattern, the fit, the instructions and the knowledge that it’s always quicker the second time around. WRONG. I hadn’t bargained on my fabric, which was a little too stretchy and WAY too Fraytastic and generally drove me a bit nuts. Oh and I also mysteriously lost all ability to topstitch during this project.

img_00411

After languishing in the corner for a few months,  I finally finished them during the jeans sew a  long. And since then I have been trying to get decent photo’s. And failing. So here they are anyway.

img_00441

The fabric, bought online, was described as silver. When it came I felt sure the silver was supposed to be the reverse and that it was made as a shiny metallic blue. I vacillated for ages on which way to go, could I be as sophisticated as Peter from Male Pattern Boldness, or should I play it safe?  In the end I faced up to the fact that my wardrobe was not going to reliable enable me to chicly style silver jeans with plain black or white items so I went blue, mainly, but with silver highlights.

IMG_0047[1].JPG

Part I’m most pleased with? The Penrose Triangle illusion on my back pocket.

Thing I hated the most?  THE FRAYING (cut waistband, sew waistband on immediately, press, look at top of waistband, it now looks like this, seriously?!)

img_0197

Do I wear them?  Yes, absolutely.(I seriously need a new photographer, he took these two shots then declared his job done)

IMG_0196.JPG

Did they live up to my expectations? Nope. (what’s going on with all those wrinkles at the back?)

img_01831

Will I ever buy metallic denim online again?  Unlikely.

IMG_0045[2].JPG

Overriding emotion upon completion?  Relief.

5 thoughts on “Liana no 2 – the metallic ones

  1. I’m fairly certain that this exact same denim was in my stash. It definitely frayed a lot in the two projects I ended up using it in!

  2. I love topstitching and your pocket design is fabulous! It might have been a lot of work, but it looks great!

  3. Pingback: Black and Fourth | Prolific Project Starter

Leave a Reply

