Emergency

We have been without a boiler in our house for over a week now (and more than 2 weeks left to go until the plumber can “squeeze in” fitting our replacement).  We have a couple of electric heaters, but, err, my sewing room is too untidy to squeeze one in so consequently my sewjo has taken a big hit.

It also means that clothes are hard to dry (we don’t have a tumble dryer, not normally an issue but when the house is cold and the sun aint shining it does slow things down rather).

It also means that even my normally hot blooded daughter wants to wear winter pj’s in bed.

DSCF1301.JPG

So, one pair of long pj’s still damp + one pair ripped + one tired girl = tears.

And tears = guilty mamma.

(These pj’s have actually been on the To Do Pile for a while. I was quite happy to whip up a replacement pair as I had enough of this fabric left over, but when I was informed that they had to have the same red satin cuffs (with ric rac) and waistband that nearly did me in the first time round my motivation withered somewhat and then it transpired she was quite happy wearing summer pj’s in the winter so they got pushed to the back of the cupboard)

DSCF1299.JPG

So, I this evening, to prevent more tears, I got off my backside and sewed up a replacement pair in the next size up (no point making something she’s about to grow out of right?), with french seams none the less. I tapered the bottom of the legs to the width of the size below so that I could harvest the cuffs from the old pair and just sew them on.  I simply finished the raw edges on the new pair with a zig zag, cut off the cuffs from the old pair about a cm about the join, turned the raw edge under, pinned it on top of the new pair with an overlap and then sewed them on. I didn’t harvest the waistband (too small, too complicated), but to make up for it I added a little bunny to the inside at the back.

DSCF1300.JPG

I was rewarded with a happy dance, big smiles and a cuddle.

DSCF1303.JPG

No more tears, and not a bottle of shampoo in sight.  (Plus a couple of extra dusters for me.)

5 thoughts on “Emergency

  1. Get another plumber! It’s January!! I don’t have a tumble drier either but recommend Lakeland heated airers. Take a look – they will transform your life! Lovely Pj’s, hope you’re all warm & snugly soon x

  2. They look great! I hope you can get your boiler fixed soon, that sounds awful!

  3. How terrible living without a working boiler. Fortunately, the pajamas is a big success to your daughter. From tears to smile.

  4. You might laugh at me for this, but I had to ask my husband how a boiler works to keep your house warm, boilers in houses being an unheard of concept in Australia. Almost as rare is having a basement to put it in!

    • ha ha! My brother in law lived in Adelaide for 4 years and lamented the lack of central heating in the winter, he said it wasn’t cold enough often enough for houses to have them but there were a few weeks when he felt it would’ve been a good idea. We ended up buying him thermal underwear and sending it to Oz!

Leave a Reply

