Lovely Liana

Did you spot the anachronism yesterday I posted about my camel jumper? Anyone?  There are probably a myriad of mistakes I overlooked, but the glaring error to my mind is that I said I had nothing to wear it with and yet I was wearing it with a pair of jeans it looked fine with. So, I’ll let you into two secrets. The first is, that post sat waiting for photo’s for over a week whilst I failed to take photo’s (top tip, if you put something on in the morning so you get a photo of it, don’t have an impromptu gardening session first and cover it in mud).

IMG_0152

The second is that whilst I was waiting for the photo’s I made jeans. But I don’t mind if you didn’t notice, I’ll just take it as proof that they look pretty professional 😉

IMG_0166

These are Itch to Stitch Liana Stretch Jeans. There was a sew-a-long back in December, but I decided I didn’t have time to pfaff about getting jeans to fix back then.

IMG_0160

More fool me as these are the size 18 straight out of the packet, no alterations, and they are the best fitting pair of jeans I can remember having (although there are wrinkles so might investigate alterations before the next pair, and there will be a next pair, but then again, I might just be lazy).

IMG_0142

My favourite bit was topstitching the back pockets, such fun! (And yes, I have sorted those loose ends out now).

IMG_0165

Now I’ve made them I understand why a couple of people I know have been raving about them. First off Kennis’s pattern is impeccably well drafted. See that coin pocket, there is a different sized one for each size of the pattern (and for the back pockets too) Seriously. And a pattern piece for the belt loops (rather than just cut a piece of fabric x by y). Oh and those pockets you see have pocket stays too. And there are three different leg options, skinny, straight or bootcut, I went for the latter.

IMG_0161

The instructions (with diagrams, I love a good diagram) are really clear, including when to finish seams, when to topstitch, what to do if your machine doesn’t have a bar tack function and a great way of inserting the fly. It all leads to a very professional finish.

IMG_0108.JPG

Can you tell I love them? There will soon be a pile like this again awaiting construction as my red jeans are on the mending pile with fabric failure, as for a while they were the only jeans I had so they’ve seen quite alot of use. I need to make a second pair of these before they go the same way…

 

 

14 thoughts on “Lovely Liana

  1. These look so good! I have been intrigued, but put off by my own imaginings of the sheer amount of work involved in making jeans. Maybe this fall.

  2. I might need these jeans. These look fabulous! Just finished the Birkin Flares which are also really nice, but the Itch to Stitch patterns are becoming irresistible.

  3. Fantastic! I’m jealous of yours! I’ve yet to start mine. Well, I did print the pattern (Real Deal Jeans from Winter Wear Designs). I won the pattern so have to try it.

  4. Your jeans are just great! I have made a couple of pairs myself and just loved doing the topstitching! Your’s looks right on!

  5. Pingback: Tsarina Cape | Prolific Project Starter

  6. Pingback: Ketchup | Prolific Project Starter

  7. Pingback: Give thanks for jeans! | Prolific Project Starter

  8. Pingback: Liana Line Up – The Warm Up | Prolific Project Starter

Leave a Reply

