Anya The 3rd

IMG_4072

What do you do when someone returns some fabric you offloaded gave to them with extra’s?  I gave a friend the two fabrics top left last summer as potential pockets for a skirt and then all of this little lot turned up in a parcel (whilst I was trying to have a sort out no less).

 

Merchant and Mills Union dress.  It started off life as a skirt.  Then I decided it had to be a dress, but made a mess of the button holes.  The button panel fabric is courtesy of prolificprojectstarter - used with many thanks!  Finished today, but started in 2015 :-):

I’m pretty sure that this placket (no sniggering at the back there) is all she used it for too so I must’ve got back nearly all the stuff I gave her.

IMG_4093

Well I can’t stand for that sort of nonsense. How’s a woman supposed to reduce her stash with that kind of thing going on? (She’s even just joined the stashbusting group at my suggestion, this was not what I had in mind).  So I did the only logical thing I could in this situation, I made her a bag with the fabric she sent. I reckon it’ll nicely match her Merchant and Mills dress don’t you think?

IMG_4094

Another Anya bag no less. All from stash, mainly the left overs of my skirt that she’d returned, but also some bits of my old jeans for contrast, one of LSH’s old shirts for a lining and some snazzy bronze piping that I think I might have actually properly installed. Oh and some bias binding to help me eek straps out, finding a big enough piece of fabric to make the straps as directed always seems to be my biggest headache when using this pattern to scrapbust. It was a straightforward make, apart from having to unpick things as I’d sewn a strap on twisted.

IMG_4092

Oh and I made sure I filled it with a little something extra before returning the fabric to her. That’ll learn her.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Anya The 3rd

  1. HAHAHAHAA! I am in awe of the snazzy bronze piping. And the shape, and the pleats, and the way that the fabrics work together. I sort of wish I had made it but it’s even nicer made by you! I can’t wait to wear it with the dress, in the way that we used to wear dresses with matching accessories in the late 1960s (you are too young to remember I think).

  2. Oh my goodness!!!!! This is SUCH an amazing Anya! It’s going to look divine when worn with that dress, your friend is very lucky. I loved hearing about the to-ing and fro-ing of those fabric pieces! xxx

  3. So funny! I love your latest Anya, it’s my favourite that you’ve made yet. Everything co-ordinates so brilliantly and the piping – well, seems you nailed it !

Leave a comment